4 things I’ve learnt from social media?

Social media is everywhere nowadays, its so hard not to get consumed by it. From the moment you wake up to the moment you go to sleep most of us will check some sort of social platform. We are all victims of this powerful tool that has truly hooked us. It seems scarier to think of a world without Facebook, Twitter, Youtube or Instagram now. But is this a good or a a bad thing?

As soon as you leave school the novelty of social media platforms just sort of dwindles off and now all you see are people sharing videos on Facebook and the occasional family/friends photo on Instagram. Before seriously getting into blogging and Instagram I wasn’t really that fussed by social media either, but oh how this has changed now. So today I’m going to share with you 5 things that I’ve learnt from social media.

  1. Be inspired, not compared. The number 1 rule when scrolling through Instagram or any social media is to not compare yourself to others or even worse beat yourself up (not literally) about the fact that you don’t look the same or lead the same lifestyle. Of course this is not to say that you can’t be inspired because probably the most valuable thing that I’ve gained from social media is inspiration from others, but there’s a fine line between comparison and inspiration.
  2. You can’t please them all. Someone once said to me if everyone likes you then you’re doing something wrong. At first I didn’t quite get what they meant by this but it makes perfect sense now. Not everyone will like what you’re doing, how you look and will frankly feel the need to tell you their opinions, but I say let them. Every time someone tries to knock you down or shine a negative light on what you’re doing just use this as perfect opportunity to prove them wrong. It shouldn’t matter what other people think, just as long as you’re happy with YOURSELF.
  3. Confidence is not a bad thing. I’ve found myself many times hesitant to post a photo on Instagram that could perhaps be deemed ‘showy’ but at the end of the day who cares! I’m not doing all this for other people, I’m doing it for me. In a way Instagram is sort of a public diary of photos that I’m able to look back on and share my journey with other people along the way. Throughout my journey I am most grateful for the confidence that I have gained from posting photos and writing my blogs as I have always struggled with confidence issues. So if there’s anything that you take away from this blog post is don’t be afraid to be YOU, its perfectly fine to have confidence in yourself and project this confidence amongst others as like I said in point number 1 its amazing how much inspiration you can gain from social media (I said inspiration not comparison remember).
  4. Don’t get too caught up. Even though social media is an amazing network, it is important not to get too caught up in it. It’s not really about how many likes or followers you gain because I would much rather relate to or inspire 1 person than 100 people who just like or follow you for superficial likes and follows back. This is something that I have only recently learnt since seriously starting my blogging and ‘Instagraming’ as I used to take it personally if someone unfollowed me or unliked a photo but life is too short to focus on those things. Life is also too short to spend 24/7 on social media. I must admit I am a culprit of this from time to time but I’ve realised its important to not live your life through a screen and actually look up, go out and do things. Moderation is key like with everything as we were born to live a natural life, not a virtual one.

 

image-60825

Be true Be you x

Leave a Reply

