My thoughts on social media

Just a little warning this may be a bit of a wordy post. So the reason I didn’t post yesterday is because I was feeling very down and defeated with this whole blogging thing. I didn’t have any great ideas and when I tried to take photos it made me feel extremely bad about myself because they weren’t flattering at all. So in the end I got very frustrated and ended up quite emotional because I didn’t feel like I was getting anywhere and instead was just wasting loads of time. Also the whole social media and Instagram thing played a big part in my frustrations yesterday as I lose a lot of followers on a daily basis and it makes me worried and self-conscious as I feel like I’ve done something wrong or they don’t like my content and if so should I change it. But despite all this I realise today that I’m still really starting out with this whole blogging thing and have a lot to learn yet, plus things don’t just happen overnight, they take time.

There’s been many occasions when I’ve looked at other blogs and been tempted to just replicate what they do and write about the same kind of thing but at the end of the day that’s not me and that’s not what I want to talk about or represent. Don’t get me wrong I love writing about fashion and style but I don’t want to pretend to be something I’m not, so yes I may not take the most professional photos and yes I may not have the most luxurious stuff or do anything big or special to share with you, but that’s because I don’t and I can’t afford to at the moment as I’m a student. It’s so easy to get carried away with everything you see on social media and think that it’s the bee all and end all to have the latest stuff and be like them, but is it really? You see all these bloggers and youtubers galavanting off on their luxurious days out and showing the glamorous side of their life which is inspiring don’t get me wrong but it’s important to remember not to get too carried away with it all and beat yourself up about the fact that you don’t lead such a glamorous lifestyle. I am such a culprit of this especially when I look at other already established bloggers with a huge following and I ask myself why haven’t I achieved that yet? It may just not be my time or it may not ever happen but what I’ve got to remember is that I’m not doing all this blogging and social media stuff for loads of likes or attention, I’m doing it for me and it doesn’t matter if 10 or 100 people read my blog just as long as I stay true to myself and ultimately help others too. It’s so easy to compare yourself to others on social media but there’s a fine line between admiring someone else and then beating yourself up about not being like them. I must point out that I’m no expert and my intentions of this blog are not to offer professional advice as I’m definitely no professional but I just wanted to share with you my recent thoughts and feelings on the whole blogging social media thing.

Social media is such a powerful tool nowadays that can be both a really positive and negative thing. It’s very hard but you’ve just got to block out the negativity and not care what others think, post what you want to post and be who you want to be. You can end up putting so much pressure on yourself to be and present yourself in a certain way similar to others that may not actually represent who you are as a person and what’s the point in that? Not everyone is going to necessarily like your content, posts or blog but that’s life, you can’t make everyone happy so why bother trying to, you should only be trying to make yourself happy. As long as you like what you’re doing then heck just go for it. So what if my Instagram is a bit random and there’s no consistent white background theme. That’s because I’m a bit random and I like doing a variety of things as my family will know from what we call my hobby-hopping days when I used to start and then go onto the next hobby like no tomorrow; from gymnastics to netball to fashion designing and the list goes on… That’s just me, and I don’t intend to change just to try and fit in with other bloggers and social media. My trying to fit in school days are over and it’s time to just be me and embrace that. I apologise again for the wordiness of this post but I just wanted to and needed to express my thoughts and opinions on the matter as it has been something that as played on my mind for a while now and I’m sure a lot of people have felt the same at some point. This is why I stick by my motto Be True Be You as it’s very easy in the world we live in today to follow the crowd and ultimately lose yourself, but why follow others when you can be different, unique and be YOU.

One thought on “My thoughts on social media

Leave a Reply

