Can you tell the difference between high end and low end high street?

This is a question that has been troubling me for a while… can you really tell the difference between something that costs £100 plus compared to something that costs just £30? Well I wanted to test this and really get to the bottom of whether splashing the cash is really worth it. So I ventured out on Saturday with the intent of trying on high end high street clothing and then their low end high street alternatives to compare, well my version of their alternatives anyway. Something I must share with you though is my experience trying on high end high street clothing. Oh well, did I feel uncomfortable and embarrassed. Not only did I feel pressured to buy the clothes, which I really couldn’t afford anyway, but I felt so out of place and got the impression that the employees knew I couldn’t really buy the clothes I was trying on, giving me a look of pity mixed with shame as I handed the clothes back to them (reluctantly with some of the items I must add). At the end of the day should it matter if I could afford them or not? The whole point of having fitting rooms is to try before you buy and anyway I am trying before I’m buying even if the buying comes years later when I have a proper, higher paying job. Nothing like some well-advanced preparation. Without further or do I’m going to show you the outfits I tried on with their descriptions below and see if you can spot which ones are high end and low end high street. All will be revealed at the bottom of the page. I know you’re tempted but see if you can guess without looking at the answers first and comment below if you got any right or feel free to comment anything you’d like! (I must add that the shoes are mine and are  same throughout. They were £7 from TK Maxx if you were wondering).

  1. Casual wear: Floral printed dress paired with a leather jacket

2. Formal wear: Monochrome floral dress with greyish tones

3. Casual wear: Blush pink top with biker style jeans

4. Occasion wear: Contrast print dress

5. Now I know these outfits aren’t exactly matching but I just fell in love with these items when I saw them so it will be interesting to see which one you think is high end and low end when the outfits aren’t comparable.

Now are you ready for the big reveal…..

  1. The left image is the low end high street from New Look. Dress = £24.99, Jacket = £29.99. The right image is the high end high street from All Saints. Dress = £188.00, Jacket = £318.00
  2. The left image is the high end high street from Coast. Dress = £95.00. The right image is the low end high street from Quiz. Dress = £24.99
  3. The left image is the high end high street from Mint Velvet. Top = £69.00, Jeans = £79.00. The right image is the low end high street from Primark and next (as primark didn’t have my size in their jeans). Top = £8.00, Jeans = £35
  4. The left image is the high end high street from Coast (again). Dress = £129.00. The right image is the low end high street from Quiz (again). Dress = £26.99
  5. The left image is the low end high street from Zara. Jacket = £49.99, Trousers = £25.99, Bralette = £19.99. The right image is the high end high street from Modern Rarity which by the way is absolutely stunning. Top = £60.00, Trousers = £10

So all in all were you right? Can you tell the difference between spending a £100 plus on an outfit or merely spending under 50 quid? It amazes me that higher end high street stores charge so much for some of their clothes. I mean yes there is an obvious difference in quality sometimes but I’m not sure if that grants them the privilege to charge such extortionate prices. Now this may be because I am a student and I don’t have much money to flaunt around buying expensive clothing but I am a great believer that you can rock absolutely anything no matter what the price tag says because style is something that can’t be bought. You own your style when you Be True and you guessed it Be You.

2 thoughts on “Can you tell the difference between high end and low end high street?

Leave a Reply

